Fitness Joy

I ran my first 5K today.

Never in a million years did I ever think I would subject myself to the rigors of a 5K road race, especially at the tender age of 50. People who ran 5K’s, in my mind, were part of a mystical subculture of humanity who was probably a little masochistic and not quite sane. Little did I know that some day I would actually want to be one of those people.

This perception changed when my gym buddy Maryann started doing 5K’s in spite of the fact that she is in her fifties and has had a hip replacement. Maryann is my redheaded neighbor who has been through three gyms with me and is quite possibly the most faithful fitness buddy a girl could ever have.  We generally go at the same times every day (early), she isn’t grumpy in the morning and she rarely bags out on me with lame excuses for not going to the gym.

Maryann really began to run at the encouragement of Crystal Joy Brown, our personal trainer and friend who is an amazing person in her own right having once weighed in at 400 lbs. Now a charismatic personal trainer and fitness instructor, she formed an informal group of people who were interested in beginning to run and sharing their personal fitness journeys; she called the group Joy Fitness.  The “Joy Ladies” as we call ourselves are regulars in Crystal’s classes and rely on her for fitness advice, moral support and an endless supply of encouragement. Because of this, Maryann began to sign up for races and had logged dozens of them before I finally had to find out what all the excitement was about.

Not being much of a runner I had originally planned to powerwalk the 5K, but at the last minute I decided to run as much as the race as I could and if I enjoyed it I would make it a regular thing trying to beat the time of the previous race. I love having a nice little personal challenge to nurture!  My daily workouts at the gym actually prepared me aerobically much more than I had anticipated and my legs got tired long before I got winded. In the end, 44 minutes was a pretty good first time for an old broad.

I’m ready to do another.

2 Comments

  1. thor19 said,

    July 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    This is a great thing. Stay motivated. You are on a mission.

  2. Apurva said,

    December 8, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    You indeed did that.. the another one. You are such an inspiration for me to keep work outs regular.


Leave a Reply

