Dedicated Guy

Dedicated Guy ran past my house today. But I’m not surprised, because he runs by my house every day no matter how cold it is, no matter how slushy, rainy or hot.  I even noticed him running past my house one Christmas morning while the rest of the neighbors were cleaning up their wrapping paper.  His consistency and discipline are astonishing to me, and I have even taken to nicknaming him Dedicated Guy. If he happens to be running by on one of my forays into the garden, I’ll call out, “Hi Dedicated Guy”, which elicits a little chuckle from him.

He has made me wonder what sort of magic he possesses, and I dangle the Dedicated Girl Status carrot in front of myself whenever I consider a workout.  Last year a couple of things happened that pushed me closer to my Dedicated Girl goal: the Professor bought me a membership to Gold’s in Niskayuna, and my hours at worked got changed from 7 to 3 to a 9 to 5 workday.

The new gym is gorgeous… clean, lots of classes and in a nice part of town.  My old gym was okay, but parking was a hassle and it was farther away in a run down strip mall containing one of those super cheap food stores.  I got tired of finding cast-off shopping carts nuzzled up against my car when I emerged,  and the parking lot was dark and unmaintained so the incentive to go just wasn’t there.

The other incentive was a change in work hours which, while devastating at first,  suddenly opened up all kinds of morning workout opportunities.  Given the incredible choice of morning classes I was able to try all kinds of things: Body Combat, Iyengar Yoga, and Spin (of which I have become something of a devotee).  I’m a morning regular now, and it is interesting to note that nearly all the clientele at that hour is around my age or considerably older.  The same folks show up every morning like some sort of unintentional little clique and it’s nice to get a nod or a smile at that hour; it’s a very different crowd from the aloof after work types.

So how do I know I have reached Dedicated Girl status?  After waking up a couple of weeks ago to several inches of snow and immediately discarding it as an excuse not to go.  That’s what Dedicated Guy would do.

2 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    March 3, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Discovered your blog! Cool!!

  2. February 26, 2011 at 5:54 am

    […] that enviable gym rat status that I had always hoped to attain and admired in a lot of other people, but had never quite nailed. Typically I would attend faithfully for several weeks, sometimes […]


Leave a Reply

