Back to the Barn

Well, I did it. After much consideration I applied for a job in Mid-Range and actually (miracle of all miracles) got it. This means that I will no longer have to go to a district four days per week, but will drive to the network center which happens to be a mere mile from my house. It’s going to be an interesting learning curve as it deals largely with Unix, Linux and web services, but it’s manageable since I have had some exposure to all three technologies, albeit not extensively.

The district is disappointed that I am leaving, but I gave them three years to start treating the place like a real network instead of some sort of frat house for computer enthusiasts (minus the drinking and sorority girls, of course). The job I will be doing is actually a job that I had considered applying for a year ago, but I wanted to see the district through the completion of some big projects. That has been accomplished, making the re-opening of this job a sign that it was time to move on. As George Peppard often said, “I love it when a plan comes together”.

2 Comments

  1. March 1, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Woo! Frat house for computer enthusiasts, sounds like my life. Congratulations 🙂

  2. The Hebrew Hammer said,

    March 2, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Everything happens for a reason. I wish you the best of luck.


Leave a Reply

