Knitting Frenzy

knitcupWell, it’s holiday time and the mug pictured above (a gift from my daughter) gives you a pretty good idea about my current mindset.  Since everyone is always clamoring for one of my knitted items, I decided to leverage those requests into some knitted Christmas gifts.

One of the biggest problems with this is that I’m not a very speedy knitter. You would think that after all these years of knitting I would be able to churn out woollies like some sort of a machine, but that is just not the case. I also have a touch of ADD, causing me to get a few too many things on the needles at once causing a certain amount of mental overload.

In spite of all that, knitted gifts are a great time to raid my stash which grew substantially fatter last spring with the closing of a great local yarn store.  As a fiber junkie it’s impossible for me to resist a yarn sale, and they are a great opportunity to stock up on luxury yarns I can’t otherwise afford.   One of my projects is a pair of fingerless gloves knitted from some yummy Louisa Harding Kimono Angora which is super expensive, but perfect for a small project. The hand painted Debbie Bliss SoHo is another one of those yarns that I could never afford to use for an entire sweater, but makes a gorgeous hat. And of course I have to mention the hand dyed Suri Alpaca I purchased from one of my favorite online yarn stores…too pricey for an entire sweater, but as a scarf it’s just heavenly.

At the end of the day, it’s a win-win for everyone; my friends and family get luxuriously warm handmade gifts, and I get to justify my yarn habit.  I’m going to go knit something now.

5 Comments

  1. charley said,

    December 20, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Why are you putting two spaces between sentences? It should only be one.

  2. Mom said,

    December 20, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Because back in the dark ages of the typewriter and before the marvels of html, one always put two spaces between sentences. The old dog cliche applies here.

  3. charley said,

    December 21, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    One space or two:

    There is a holdover from the days of typewriters that negatively affects the appearance of a block of type – the practice of putting two spaces after a period. This practice is based on the fact that typewriter fonts are monospaced, meaning that every letter takes up the same amount of space.

    In contrast, digital type is proportionally spaced, meaning that width of each character and its surrounding space are in proportion to each other. In a monospaced font, the letter m and i take up the same amount of space; in a proportionally spaced font, the i takes up less space than the m.

    In a monospaced font, two spaces were needed between sentences to achieve a noticeable separation. In a proportionally spaced font, this is
    not necessary and in fact leads to too much space between sentences.

    http://www.pbrgraphics.com/

  4. Kate Alexandra said,

    January 24, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Hi,
    That is H&Js. Buy good type faces (http://www.typography.com/home/index.php?affiliateID=) and that should not be an issue. Never double space after a period and know your h&js. Very Important.

    I would like a quilt (it can be a wedding and other gift) and a hat. I need a cool hat. Amazing I come from the Blue Line and I do not have a cool hat. Could I have the hat by Feb. 13th, no later than 6:oo pm.? Let me know, you are my favorite sister. (That was not meant as an insult)

    Luv Kate

    • chickenminnie said,

      January 25, 2009 at 7:31 am

      Hi Kate,
      I deserve the quilt comment…mea culpa.

      The hat I can do. Just point me in the direction of color & style.

      You’re my favorite sister, too!


Leave a Reply

