Java Hell

Yes, I know…. I have been really lame about keeping up with my blog, but I have an excuse of sorts.  The first part of a two-part Java class (which is required for my degree program) has been totally kicking my butt and causing massive consumption of my free brain time.  It seems to use a completely different mental skill set than networking, and I now have a  better appreciation for all the weird programmer jokes I’ve heard over the years.  I also have a better understanding of how in the world there can possibly be so much crappy software out there.

Java is such a strange mix of English and math that I get confused about where one ends and the other begins; there are just too many classes and methods and brackets.  I understand the need and the logic of it, but the amount of code that goes into one little command or output is mind-boggling to me and I lose patience with it.  It seems like an agonizing process to go through for such a tiny bit of information.

The good news is that I have had a fair number of math classes, so I am not struggling with such terms as ‘variable’ and ‘order of operations’; some of the people in my class are way more lost than I am, but that’s cold comfort for someone who is shooting for a 4.0.  In desperation I went out and purchased “Java Programming for Dummies”, which did help me to understand some of the more difficult concepts.

The other thing that is at least somewhat comforting is the fact that I have pretty much figured out how the compiler works.  The professor is having us use the Eclipse IDE which, as someone in my Linux group said, is like trying to learn to drive a stick shift on a Maserati.  The professor is a nice lady whose classes I have taken before, and she’s very patient with me, especially given her huge class load.

I’ll be awfully glad when the programming classes are done.

1 Comment

  1. The Hebrew Hammer said,

    December 4, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Now you understand why I’m not a programmer.


Leave a Reply

