The Fifth Day

Yesterday was Friday which is typically my “BOCES Day”. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this terminology it is the day when you are assigned to the network center instead of your regular school district. Because of the cooperative nature of the BOCES services, you generally cannot be in a district more than four days per week. There are exceptions of course; but for the most part my Fridays are spent at the home office unless I am assigned elsewhere.

I love my BOCES day. It is the one day when I can hobnob with other geeky people who speak my language and understand the odd complexities of school technology. Being away from the district gives me an uninterrupted chunk of time to catch up on paperwork, do research or use the test lab. Fridays are spent brainstorming with coworkers about problems, discussing future implementations and checking out the various projects my colleagues are working on. It’s really some of the best professional development I can get, and since BOCES isn’t exactly liberal with its training opportunities I really utilize my Fridays as much as possible.

1 Comment

  1. The Hebrew Hammer said,

    May 5, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    And you get to put fortune cookies on my desk.


Leave a Reply

