A Little Slice of Life

This is an actual snippet of an email received from my daughter. I swear.

Yes, I may go home and paint the linen closet. I really need to stop reading Design*Sponge.

Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you look at it) she has inherited my compulsive urge to fix things, make things and generally repurpose everything around her, usually on the cheap. If you ever see her with a can of spray paint in her hand do not stand still for very long because you will be turned into a lamp. She is constantly devouring ideas from the web, magazines and HGTV, and her impeccably neat apartment looks like something out of a magazine.

I don’t expect her to outgrow this mania; at 47 I’m still remodeling, rebuilding and replanting everything in sight. These things happen in bursts, but happen they do. My latest project, a slipcover for my couch, will be posted soon. My parents are to blame for this do-it-yourself obsession; I’m sure I was the only kid in grade school who had a radial arm saw in her dining room. Remodeling was a fact of life for me, and it still gives me a curious sense of satisfaction to create something. I’m glad the apple hasn’t fallen too far from the tree.

Actually, Sean would make a great lamp if you could find the right shade.

4 Comments

  1. The Hebrew Hammer said,

    April 4, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Making Lamps?
    http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/173410/jack_daniels_bottle_lamp_craft_project.html

    Im going to put a few of those in my apt… i just have to finish my second bottle.

  2. Charley said,

    April 4, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Classy. After reading that comment, one wonders if the Hebrew Hammer could point out a labia if his life depended on it.

    And the redneck in me is disappointed he’s only on his second bottle.

  3. April 4, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    haha… I would make a great lamp? Don’t go putting any ideas into Alicia’s head or the next time I’m lured in by baked goods, I’ll find myself on the business end of a Krylon can. Although, I do think my brown slacks and black Doc Marten’s would go nicely with an auburn shade. I’ll have to work on my Uncle Fester lightbulb trick.

  4. The Hebrew Hammer said,

    April 4, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Charley,

    I see your claws are out this week.


Leave a Reply

