The Bachelorette

The Professor has flown to San Antonio, Texas for a few days of R & R with his sister and I have been having a good time playing bachelorette. Since I have always really enjoyed living alone it’s like a nice little mini vacation for me, and I don’t even have to leave home. I get to spread my reading materials all over the couch and hog the remote so I can od on Home & Garden Television and the Food Network. Bachelorette week invariably means great shopping, eating cereal over the sink and spending quality time with my chick. Funny note: I just looked up bachelorette in my thesaurus and one of the substitutions was spinster. Maybe I should quit while I’m ahead.

Anyway, Ken views my little vacations from him with a mixture of amusement  and consternation because he knows I don’t bother to cook for myself. Before he left this time he made some chili and put it in individual containers for me. After showing me where they were located in the refrigerator he looked at me and said, “You’re going to eat cereal over the sink, aren’t you?” He knows me well; which is one of the great things about living with him and why it’s always okay when the mini-vacation is over.

Leave a Reply

