Monday, Monday

This should have been a three day weekend, but because we had a phone upgrade this weekend I had to work on Saturday. It happens. Unfortunately, the upgrade went horribly south because of a hardware problem so we will be limping along for a few days until the part arrives. Fortunately it’s Winter Break at school, and if you have to do any limping that’s the time to do it.

The orange cardigan is finished and drying in my dining room….yay! It needed a good washing after it was completed to rinse away some of the excess dye which was depositing itself on my hands. It’s not cool to have orange smudges on everything, especially the seat of my car with its parchment colored seat inserts.

The sweater isn’t even dry yet and I am planning my next project. I am going to do a gauge swatch of the moss Bartlett, but in the meantime I am winding several hanks of recycled sari silk into balls because I want one of those funky knitted market bags. I have had this sari silk in my stash for a while now and it’s pretty wild stuff; every imaginable jewel tone is wound into a light worsted weight yarn and no two hanks are alike. It’s not really suitable for a sweater as it’s got a lot of vegetable matter wound into it, but it makes nice accessories.

School is going pretty well. The topic last week was shell scripts which scared me a little at first. I mean, I write login scripts, .ncf files and batch files all the time, but shell scripts have always intimidated me. Maybe it’s because my friend Dug has a sign outside his cubicle that says, “Go away or I will replace you with a very small shell script.” Or maybe it’s because the instructor wanted us to write the scripts in vi (gasp) which is a painful way to write anything. Thankfully someone in the class asked if it was okay to write them in pico, and when the instructor said yes I was incredibly relieved; not having to deal with vi freed me up to concentrate on scripting which is really not so bad. I can think of a number of handy applications for scripting and it will be nice to write my own instead of stealing them from other people.

1 Comment

  1. The Hebrew Hammer said,

    April 11, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Vi isn’t very painful once you get used to it.


Leave a Reply

